The Dangers of Farming

17 Nov

When I woke up yesterday morning I was immobile.

For some reason my neck was completely stiff, I could look to my right side but that its. Looking at the boxes in left was completely out of my range of skills. (Yes that was a Beyonce reference.) And forget about walking as each step sent a jolt up through my skull cause me yelp, and here I was overjoyed that I this was the last week I had to wear a cast for my broken arm.

I am clumsy,I do freely admit that. However working in agriculture is dangerous job.  Often courting danger when working with large machinery, and large animals. Yet, everyday agriculturists manage to provide food and fiber despite the difficult conditions.

Here is some startling facts pulled from the U.S. Department of Labor:

  • In 2011, 570 agricultural workers died from work-related injuries. The fatality rate for agricultural workers was 7 times higher than the fatality rate for all workers in private industry; agricultural workers had a fatality rate of 24.9 deaths per 100,000, while the fatality rate for all workers was 3.5.
  • The leading cause of death for farmworkers between 1992 and 2009 was tractor overturns, accounting for over 90 deaths annually.
  • Every day, about 243 agricultural workers suffer a serious lost-work-time injury. Five percent of these injuries result in permanent impairment.

While these facts and figures are alarming, I don’t mean to pull these out of proportion. This article gives a more in-depth description of all the facts and figures.

Have a nice night, and stay safe.

Kristen

2 Responses to “The Dangers of Farming”

  1. Milk processing November 17, 2014 at 10:50 am #

    You shared very useful information about farming that includes many important facts about it. I am completely agreed with your points because farming is the largest sector in US so we should find good solution of it. Keep up sharing such nice information with us.

    • kristenvmoran December 4, 2014 at 9:35 pm #

      Thanks so much I really appreciate the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

