30 Day Blog Challenge: My quest for knowledge about Organic Agriculture

14 Nov

What I know about organic food could fit in a thimble.

Growing up organic was a fringe aspect of agriculture, yes I knew it existed, but did I know what it was about? Heck no!

Going to Chico State I got a brief introduction into organic farming and other sustainable farming techniques, which piqued my interest. And because I know so little about organic agriculture I decided to focus on it this week as my hot topic.

Before I drive into the exciting world of organic agriculture I would like to state that I appreciate all forms of ag. In my humble opinion it’s not beneficial of agriculturalists to tear each other down and proclaim one form of agriculture better then another. This is merely (me being the inquisitive creature that I am) a quest for knowledge about other forms of ag.

According to the USDA organic is “labeling term that indicates that the food or other agricultural product has been produced through approved methods that integrate cultural, biological, and mechanical practices that foster cycling of resources, promote ecological balance, and conserve biodiversity.”

Furthermore The USDA monitories the “integrity of the USDA organic products in the USA and in the world” through “regulation and guidance on certification, production, handling, and labeling of USDA organic products.”

Here are the basic facts:

  • There are 30,000 organic farms and processing facilities certified by the USDA
  • Approximately 100 agents manage organic Certification both overseas and in the U.S.
  • Food that is certified organic assures the consumer that: irradiation, synthetic fertilizers, sewage, certain pesticides, genetically modified organisms was not apart of the farming process.
  • Furthermore if certified by the USDA verifies that the product is made of at least 95% organic materials

Like I stated before I barely know anything about organic agriculture, other then the fact they don’t use pesticides or GMO’s. If you think that there is aspect that I should explore more about organic realm of agriculture feel free to comment below. In addition I will be interviewing several students who work at the organic dairy here on the CSU Campus.

Have a nice day,

Kristen

Leave a Reply

